Heroes of The Storm Update Detailed

Blizzard have released a list of the new features and changes for Heroes of The Storm. The main additions are a new battleground and a new playable hero. Heroes of The Storm is Blizzard’s first foray into the Multiplayer Online Battle Arena(MOBA) genre. Featured in the title are characters from all of Blizzard’s iconic franchises. The game is currently in Beta but you can purchase a Founder’s Pack for €34.99 which will give you immediate access. In addition to this you will receive in game currency, three playable characters and a few cosmetic items. The game will be free-to-play once it leaves Beta testing and any purchases in the Beta will be carried forward to the main release.

New Battleground: Tomb of the Spider Queen, a brand new 3-lane Battleground

  • Spider Minions and enemy Heroes will drop magical Gems of Power upon death
  • Collect these Gems and turn them in to the Spider Queen’s Altars, which can be found in-between lanes at the center of the Battleground
  • Once either team has relinquished enough Gems to the Spider Queen, her Webweavers will descend and travel down each lane to siege the opposing team on three fronts

Sylvanas Windrunner, a new unique specialist:

  • Basic Abilities
    • Withering Fire (Q)
      Shoot the closest enemy for 25 damage, preferring Heroes; stores 5 charges.
      Deals 10 damage, and an additional 40 damage over 2 seconds, to target unit; this effect spreads to nearby units.
    • Haunting Wave (E)
      Send forth a wave of banshees, dealing 30 damage to all targets; reactivate to teleport to the banshees’ location.
  • Trait
    • Black Arrows
      Basic Attacks and Abilities stun Minions, Mercenaries, and Towers.
  • Heroic Abilities
    • Wailing Arrow
      Shoot an arrow that explodes for 200 damage and silences enemies for 2.5 seconds; can be reactivated to detonate the arrow early.
    • Possession
      Force an enemy Minion to fight for you; it gains 20% Attack Damage and Health.

Team League, the second mode of Ranked play in Heroes of the Storm

  • With Team League, players can create named teams with dedicated rosters in order to participate in ranked, competitive Heroes of the Storm matches as a group against other teams of similar skill.
  • In order to participate in Team League, players must meet the following requirements:
    • Reach Level 40.
    • Own 10 or more Heroes (weekly free rotation Heroes do not count toward this requirement).
    • Create or join a team that has at least five members logged in and ready to play in Team League.

New Progression System:

  • Hero Progression
  • The maximum Hero Level has been increased from 10 to 20.
  • New rewards have been added:
    • 1,250 Gold at Hero Level 15.
    • 2,500 Gold at Hero Level 20.
  • Player Progression
  • New rewards have been added:
    • 7 Day Stimpack at Player Level 10.
    • 2,000 Gold at Player Levels 20, 25, 30, 35, 40.
    • Team League unlocked at Player Level 40.
    • Players who had already reached or surpassed the level requirement for these rewards prior to today’s patch will also receive them.

The complete patch notes are listed on the Heroes of the Storm website.

Andrew Brennan
Follow me
Latest posts by Andrew Brennan (see all)

You may also like...